University of London-Into city

About us

Location London, United Kingdom Funding Type Public
No of Students 19780 Establishment University
Founded In 1966 Estimated Cost of Living 12006 GBP
Address Northampton Square, London EC1V 0HB, United Kingdom

City, University of London (abbreviated CUL) is a leading public research university in London, United Kingdom. It has been a constituent college of the University of London since 2016. It was founded in 1894 as the Northampton Institute, and became a university when The City University was created by royal charter in 1966.The Inns of Court School of Law, which merged with City in 2001, was established in 1852, making it the University's oldest constituent part. City joined the federal University of London on 1 September 2016, becoming part of the eighteen colleges and ten research institutes that make up that university.

City has strong links with the City of London, and the Lord Mayor of London serves as the university's rector.The university has its main campus in Central London in the London Borough of Islington, with additional campuses in Islington, the City, the West End and East End. The annual income of the institution for 2016–17 was £227.0 million, of which £11.6 million was from research grants and contracts, with an expenditure of £221.4 million.[1] It is organised into five schools, within which there are around forty academic departments and centres, including the Department of Journalism, the Cass Business School, and City Law School which incorporates the Inns of Court School of Law



  • City currently has nearly 20,000 students (over 40% at postgraduate level) from more than 150 countries and staff from over 75 countries.
  • More than 140,000 former students from over 180 countries are members of the City Alumni Network.
  • City has been educating students in London since 1894.
  • We adopted the name "City" in 1966 to reflect our long-standing relationship with the City of London.
  • The Lord Mayor of London is our Rector, an arrangement which has been in place since 1966.
  • City has been supported by the City of London livery companies for over 100 years.
  • We joined the University of London federation in 2016.
  • City has five Schools - Cass Business School, School of Arts & Social Sciences, School of Health Sciences, School of Mathematics, Computer Science & Engineering and The City Law School. Our Graduate School, interdisciplinary centres and the Department for Learning Enhancement & Development (LEaD) complete the academic structure of City.